Cat Stevens Announces 2017 Australian Tour

by John Dexter

Cat Stevens will return to Australia for his Peace Train Tour 2017 in November and December, celebrating the 50th anniversary of the release of his first album, 1967’s Matthew & Son.

The perennially popular singer songwriter will return to Australia for the first time since his successful 2010 tour, which in turn was his first Australian tour in 36 years.

Known commonly by his original stage name Cat Stevens changed his legal name to Yusuf Islam in the late 1970s, as he eschewed the excesses of a music star’s life for a more spiritual path. Having taken a few decades away from the music scene, Stevens/Yusuf has returned to music in recent years. Writing, touring and releasing records alongside vocal political activism, he has remained as relevant a musician as his music is timeless.

Starting in late November at the Perth Arena, the tour will roll on to Adelaide’s Botanic Park, then the Rod Laver Arena in Melbourne, then the Hunter Valley’s Roche Estate, Sydney’s Qudos Bank Arena, and finish up at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre.

The first round of tickets will be available to Redroom fan club members from midday Wednesday, March 29 until 8am Thurday, March 30. Subsequent presale will be available to Telstra customers from 10am Thursday, March 30 to 10pm Sunday, April 2. Tickets will be publicly available from 10am Wednesday, April 5.

National Tour Dates:

PERTH: Wednesday, November 22,  Perth Arena – www.ticketek.com.au

ADELAIDE: Saturday, November 25, Botanic Park – www.ticketek.com.au

MELBOURNE: Monday, November 27, Rod Laver Arena – www.ticketek.com.au

NSW: Saturday, December 2, Roche Estate – www.ticketmaster.com.au

SYDNEY: Monday, December 4, Qudos Bank Arena – www.ticketek.com.au

BRISBANE: Saturday, December 9, Brisbane Entertainment Centre – www.ticketek.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *